Ecommerce Blog - Fortune3

You’re Losing $900k By Not Offering Users a M-Commerce Site

If you follow trends in online marketing and research, you know how important mobile has become in this digital age market. iPhone users and Blackberry users alike are using their phones to do research and shopping online on a daily basis now.

mobile ecommerceIf you don’t believe you’re losing sales, take a look at what Amazon did in sales going mobile. In the past 12 months, Amazon topped $1 billion dollar in sales!

“In the last 12 months customers around the world have ordered more than $1 billion of products from Amazon using a mobile device,” says Amazon.com CEO Jeff Bezos. “The leading mobile commerce device today is the smart phone, but we’re excited by the potential of the new category of wireless tablet computers. Over time, tablet computers could become a meaningful additional driver for our business.”

Turning your website mobile can make a big difference in this ‘mobile age’ when it comes to ecommerce sales. In a recent InternetRetailer.com article titled, “No m-commerce site? You’re losing sales-Big Time,” Bill Siwicki talks about your potential loss by not having an m-commerce version of your website for mobile users.

“OK, you don’t have a mobile-optimized site, and 5% of your traffic is bouncing—bouncing to some other retailer that does have a mobile site that enables these shoppers to buy then and there. Let’s be conservative. Say your average ticket is $100, the industry average according to Forrester Research Inc. Say your conversion rate is 3%, the industry average according to Forrester. And your monthly unique visitors tally is 500,000—a modest number among Internet Retailer Top 500 e-retailers. 5% (the percent of traffic coming from mobile devices) of 500,000 is 25,000. 3% (the conversion rate) of 25,000 is 750. 100 (the average order value) times 750 is 75,000.

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