Ecommerce Blog - Fortune3

61% of Visitors to a Non-Mobile Site are Unlikely to Return

mobile commerce ecommerce statisticsWhen the almighty Google talks we listen. Yes! Google has released a stat that you have to say to yourself (if you’re an online retailer,) “OK, we need to make sure we have a mobile version of our website!” Lucky for Fortune3 customers, that is already possible for you.

According to Google, 61% of visitors to a non mobile site are unlikely to return to that website! That’s well over half of visitors that you may lose from coming back to make the final sale because you weren’t ‘mobile’ ready. But wait; there is another very big stat to look at. When a mobile site is available, consumer engagement increases by 85%! Not sold yet?

A mobile website ensures easy navigation for those on mobile devices and tables and also optimizes the speed of a website.

According to Forrester research, mobile commerce (or M-Commerce) will reach $31 billion in 2016. Do you want a piece of that? Of course you do.

“We project that 44 percent of last minute searches for gifts this holiday season will be mobile searches,” said Haines. “We’re just seeing more and more commerce activity moving onto the mobile device.”

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

The Role of Mobile for Mcommerce Holiday Season 2011

Mobile, mobile and more mobile. If you’re an ecommerce merchant and reading the latest tech and online marketing blogs, you know how important mobile is, has become and will be even more so in the near future. The world is moving toward surfing the net more and more via mobile devices and tablets.

Emarketer.com forecast a 50% increase in mobile shopping for the 2011 holiday season! If you don’t see this stat and say, “OK, we need to make sure we’re doing what we need to for mobile,” you’ll really be behind your competition or miss out on sales. MAKE SURE your ecommerce website has a mobile version for easy and faster navigation for consumers browsing through your website.

smart phone users holiday 2011

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

M-Commerce: Tablet Users vs. Smart Phone Users

You’ve been hearing all the buzz about tablets, especially the iPad, right? The iPad has and is revolutionizing the way consumers search and use the web. It’s yet another tech gadget that gives us the ability to do what we want from a small machine, especially use the internet.

When it comes to mobile, a recent study shows that tablet users show greater ‘mobile’ purchasing than smart phone users!

Emarketer also reports on a very interesting state which states, “Ipsos also presents a group of consumers called “dual owners”—those who own both tablet and smartphone devices. Dual owners, Ipsos determined, conduct m-commerce purchases twice as often as those who own only smartphones. Dual owners, on average, made more than 20 mobile purchases over the past year.”

smart phone users v tablet users mcommerce

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

PPC Advertising Strategies for Mobile

ppc mobile advertising strategiesPay-per-click (PPC) advertisements are one of the most known marketing strategies in the online world. With this, PPC advertising has now spread to the world of mobile internet

Why the Mobile Platform is Different

Despite having the same marketing goal, PPC strategies do not work the same in different platforms. What works on a regular browser will not work on a mobile searching tool.

Basically, what makes the mobile platform different from a regular platform (as in a desktop computer) is the ad copy and the various goals that searchers using a mobile device have. These goals require different tactics and strategies rather than the traditional search. The mobile platform and the traditional platform differ significantly in areas like keyword selection, user intent, and specific types of mobile devices.

Extending PPC Advertising to a Mobile Platform

Once you have already succeeded in making an effective marketing strategy in the desktop search platform, you might then consider extending your advertising to the mobile platform. To do this, a separate advertising campaign will have to be created for the mobile platform. This will enable you to customize the ad copy for general mobile users, as well as for those users of specific mobile devices.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

Men vs. Women in Mobile Advertising and Mobile Apps

Any internet business that is trying to market or brand itself should consider creating a Facebook application. A Facebook application is a great way to engage customers and consumers with your brand.

Online marketers, especially those newcomers to the scene have questions about demographics, who uses them, how, through what devices, etc. Mobile advertising and marketing firm INNERACTIVE has made an info graphic that is telling of men vs. women in mobile apps and can help you decide certain things about your mobile applications and mobile advertising.

Some of the key findings of the data:

- The average clickthrough rate (CTR) for men is quite a bit higher, at 2.73 percent, than it is with women, at only 1.65 percent.

- The two groups generally have difference app preferences, which shouldn’t be a huge surprise, but the study also found that there are different levels of effective cost per mille (eCPM) and CTR based on the type of app.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

Ecommerce Marketing with Text Messages: High Conversion Rates

text message ecommerce marketingMobile. Mobile. Mobile. If you’re an internet retailer and haven’t analyzed the mobile marketing or aren’t thinking about mobile design or mobile marketing, you’ll fall behind soon, and fast. The mobile market is one of the fastest growing channels with internet retail and if you can get ahead of your competition, why not?

We know how effective email marketing is. There is no one I know that doesn’t check email. Also, I’m not sure I know anyone who doesn’t constantly check their phones for text, email, etc. We’re presented with a great opportunity as internet retailers for ecommerce when it comes to the mobile market. In a split second, we can reach a consumer with a text.

Are you seeing success in your email marketing efforts? I’m sure you are. If you’re not, you may be doing something wrong. The next phase is mobile marketing and text messaging can be a great new marketing channel for you to really boost sales. InternetRetailer.com talks about driving traffic and sales through text messages and their effectiveness.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

The Future of Smart Phones and eCommerce

smart phone usageWe’ve been talking about mCommerce and the boom of mobile eCommerce due to the growing number of smart phone users. Marketers and internet retailers have shifted attention to those users as we see the number of consumers browsing their phones for information is increasing yearly, almost monthly.

The future for the smart phone industry looks brighter than ever which means internet retailers will continue to put focus on their mCommerce efforts. According to the latest report by eMarketer, “Most mobile owners in the US still have only a feature phone, but eMarketer predicts smartphone ownership will rise from 31% of the mobile population this year to 43% by 2015. Nearly 110 million Americans will have a smartphone by the end of that year.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

Top 5 Mobile Devices for eCommerce

ecommerce mcommerce mobileMobile is increasingly a focus in the world of eCommerce. Since 2009, internet retailers have really put mCommerce into their internet marketing focus with the boom of the smart phones. Activity on mobile phones is increasing when it comes to browsing the web and actually making purchases from the mobile device.

Is your website mCommerce ready? Is it easy for users to navigate through your website with their mobile device? These are questions you have to ask yourself and make sure that your website is fast and easy to navigate through mobile.

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

Mobile Commerce Grows in 2010 going into 2011

By now, many of us or people we know have smart phones and people have never been so engaged with their phones as they are now. From everything from texting to browsing the web, many mobile users average more time than ever on their phones.

In 2010, Mcommerce, according to ABI research, mobile sales in 2010 were $3.4 BILLION from 1.4 billion in 2009. Internet Retailer reports, “Total U.S. m-commerce sales, excluding travel, grew 253% from $396.3 million in 2008 to $1.4 billion in 2009, emerging technologies research and consulting firm ABI Research finds. And by the end of this month, it will have grown 143% from $1.4 billion in 2009 to $3.4 billion in 2010. Travel-related mobile purchases will add another $1.5 billion this year.”

As smart phones continue to trend up as consumers’ trade in their cell phones for newer smart phones, mCommerce is only growing and will increase going into 2011. Personally, I have high expectations of what Mcommerce will look like in 2011. With this trend only increasing, one of Fortune3 projects of 2010 was to launch the mCommerce iPhone application or merchants to manage their web store from their iPhone which will be a huge advantage for those on the go. {see our mCommerce application}

Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in mCommerce

You’re Losing $900k By Not Offering Users a M-Commerce Site

If you follow trends in online marketing and research, you know how important mobile has become in this digital age market. iPhone users and Blackberry users alike are using their phones to do research and shopping online on a daily basis now.

mobile ecommerceIf you don’t believe you’re losing sales, take a look at what Amazon did in sales going mobile. In the past 12 months, Amazon topped $1 billion dollar in sales!

“In the last 12 months customers around the world have ordered more than $1 billion of products from Amazon using a mobile device,” says Amazon.com CEO Jeff Bezos. “The leading mobile commerce device today is the smart phone, but we’re excited by the potential of the new category of wireless tablet computers. Over time, tablet computers could become a meaningful additional driver for our business.”

Turning your website mobile can make a big difference in this ‘mobile age’ when it comes to ecommerce sales. In a recent InternetRetailer.com article titled, “No m-commerce site? You’re losing sales-Big Time,” Bill Siwicki talks about your potential loss by not having an m-commerce version of your website for mobile users.

“OK, you don’t have a mobile-optimized site, and 5% of your traffic is bouncing—bouncing to some other retailer that does have a mobile site that enables these shoppers to buy then and there. Let’s be conservative. Say your average ticket is $100, the industry average according to Forrester Research Inc. Say your conversion rate is 3%, the industry average according to Forrester. And your monthly unique visitors tally is 500,000—a modest number among Internet Retailer Top 500 e-retailers. 5% (the percent of traffic coming from mobile devices) of 500,000 is 25,000. 3% (the conversion rate) of 25,000 is 750. 100 (the average order value) times 750 is 75,000.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tags: , ,   Posted in mCommerce

McAfee SECURE sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams